The thirtieth anniversary of the Norwell C of E primary school’s fun run took place on Thursday 7th of October.

The weather was quite autumnal as the runners from 6 schools arrived and limbered up.

First away were the teams competing for the perpetual shield, which was won by Bleasby primary last year.  Teams were split into three categories; Advanced, Intermediate and Beginners – each able to score valuable points for their team by finishing in the top three of their category.

Following a frenetic session of arithmetic it was clear that the shield would be retained by Bleasby, who had entered two teams after a last minute withdrawal by another school, but which team would it be?

In the end the winners were Bleasby A by a single point from Bleasby B with Kneesal holding onto third place from Norwell by a slender margin of 3 points.

The final results were:

  1. Bleasby A (22)
  2. Bleasby B (21)
  3. Kneesal (13)
  4. Norwell (10)
  5. Dean Hole, Caunton (9)
  6. Winthorpe (6)
  7. St. Matthew’s (5)

After the competitive event all children, and adults, are given the opportunity to run the course for fun, with many competitors from the race running again!

Norwell C of E Primary wishes to thank all the schools, parents and children who participated, or simply cheered loudly, for their support. As ever thanks also go to the wonderful team from FONS who provided the much appreciated refreshments.

Shall we start training for 2017 now?

Norwell fun run
Tagged on: